Ditching Shampoo – The Final Verdict.

I can safely say I’m out of the no-shampoo adjustment period. I was experiencing straw-like, greasy hair for about a week. I did some reading and it was suggested that I might be overusing the apple cider vinegar, so one night I used baking soda only and woke up the next morning with a mane so fabulous, I couldn’t believe it.

No teasing, no brushing, no styling.

No teasing, no brushing, no styling.

Literally, this is me getting out of bed (as if you couldn’t tell) – hair has not been brushed, washed, teased, or curled in the last four days. Thus, my advice to anyone who is having extra greasy hair – stop using the vinegar unless your hair feels dry, then adjust as necessary.

Since beginning this endeavor, I have been washing only three to four days. Even on the fourth day, I can do a water-only wash and get away with it.

Some pros since ditching shampoo:

  • Less acne. I have less acne on my forehead and back.
  • Less buildup.
  • Less itching.
  • More volume.
  • More curls.
  • Washing my hair less = more time out of the shower doing more important things.

Some cons:

  • My hair brushes are full of fuzzy white stuff. It’s the sebum on my hair, which is good, but messy on the brushes. I have to wash my brushes more often in the shower to keep them clean (I use Dr. Bronner’s castile soap). Totally worth it.
  • Takes a little more time to wash, but difference is minimal and definitely made up by the time I save not washing my hair every other day. Scrubbing my scalp with baking soda takes a teensy bit more effort than a sudsy shampoo but still totally worth it.

Question: How do you make your hair smell good?

  • I use perfume. I have always put perfume in my hair because hair clings to scents and makes them last longer. When I’m going out I spritz on my favorite scent (Juicy Couture). This isn’t completely natural, so when I’m feeling extra-anal about my hair and skin care routine, I will use essential oils like jasmine and peppermint. I also have some oil-based, all-natural perfumes I use as well. I put a couple drops in my hands, rub them together, and scrunch into my hair.

Question: My hair is tangly, how do I make that go away?

  • Tangles happen when there is a PH issue. Adjust the level of apple cider vinegar you are using and use some coconut oil on the ends of your hair. This could also be due to hard water – hard water can leave behind a lot of buildup. Try using a clarifying shampoo once every couple of weeks.

Now, as if you didn’t need more reasons to ditch shampoo, let me add:

Shampoo is costly. If you go completely natural and organic with shampoo, it is even more costly – up to $15 for a reasonable shampoo/conditioner combination of which you will use up in two months. Cost of baking soda and vinegar that could last up to a year? $5.00.

Read more about ditching shampoo here.

5 thoughts on “Ditching Shampoo – The Final Verdict.

  1. A week or so ago, I was looking for lavender essential oil to add to Epsom Salt for my bath water. While checking out my usual go to essential oils available at our local health food store, Prairie Market, the owner came over and was asking what I was going to use it for, when I explained, she said I should not use those oils because they can be absorbed though your skin. Long story short, I ended up buying 1oz, $33 bottle of lavender oil, that can be used for scent and taken internally for a host of holistic cures. What is your thoughts on this? I’ll confess, I’ve being using the $6-7 bottle kind for years, without bad effects, yet.

    • I’m not an expert on essential oils – I only really use one at this point with any vigor and that’s tea tree oil, followed by peppermint and jasmine. I learned it this way: essential oils need to be diluted with another oil – almond, jojoba, or what have you – since essential oils aren’t really oils, just concentrated plant stuff. They shouldn’t be used undiluted on skin – though I do occasionally use tea tree oil directly on my acne. When concentrated, some things can be irritating to skin, like hot peppers, for example, or cinnamon. For everyday use, I put about five drops tea tree oil in 3 fluid ounces of almond oil and use that on my face or eczema.

      Any oils labeled ‘fragrance’ should only be used for fragrance purposes and not diluted or put on skin. Maybe that’s what she thought you were looking at and just wanted to warn you against using fragrance oils on skin or in a bath.

      I don’t see why you couldn’t put an essential oil in with Epsom salt and use it diluted in bath water. However, like I said, I’m not an expert on these things, though I found several articles with some good information:

      http://www.crunchybetty.com/21-things-you-should-know-about-essential-oils
      http://www.livestrong.com/article/74592-differences-between-essential-oils-/

      Some articles I read have conflicting advice, so I would do what you find is right for you. I have been using the same tiny bottle of tea tree oil for about seven years and have never had an issue using it directly on my face or diluted.

  2. Pingback: How I Improved My Acne By Not Washing My Face. | The Materialistic Minimalist

  3. Pingback: How I Improved My Acne By Not Washing My Face. | Beyond The Black Mountain

Leave a Reply

