Oil Pulling: Is It Bullshit? Yeah, probably.

Recently, I saw an article on Facebook about oil pulling. The person who posted it said she was going to start oil pulling for her overall health. I had never heard of this but I’m an open minded skeptic, so I googled it.

I won’t bore you with the history of oil pulling, but this is what it is: you put some oil in your mouth, swish it around for twenty minutes, and spit it out. Supposedly, the oil will magically pull toxins out of your body and cleanse your mouth. I immediately dismissed it as bullshit. That’s because it mostly is. Claims are that it can heal depression, asthma, kidney disease, etc. Eyes roll into oblivion. One thing, however, that I accepted the possibility of was improving the health of teeth and gums.

I love coconut oil. I love to eat it by the spoonful and cook with it. Plus, I hate dentists. The only science I found for coconut oil’s ability to improve my teeth was that quality coconut oil can be up to 50% Lauric Acid, an ingredient of soap, and can kill bacteria. Good enough for me.

While I don’t buy into all the other bullshit surrounding coconut oil, I’m on day two of my oil-pulling experiment. I’m using cold-pressed, extra-virgin coconut oil. The only difference I’ve noticed thus far is my teeth are very smooth and my lips well moisturized. Updates to follow. Maybe my acne and eczema will be miraculously cured.

Question:

1. Is it hard to do it for a full twenty minutes?
No. Do it while you’re washing the dishes or reading a book. Put the timer on your phone on. Easy as pie. Don’t be a wimp.

Leave a Reply

